Bedlam: From Little Brother’s Perspective

Last night before I went to bed, I remember thinking “well it doesn’t look good, but if there ever was a year for us to pull out a Bedlam win it’ll be tomorrow..”

Today as the Cowboys took the field with nothing to lose, I found a blog post from some Sooner enthusiasts. The moral of the story: that their little brother from Stillwater was coming down to play and the game wouldn’t be much to write home about, only a moral boost for OU headed into bowl games. Funny story…

Oklahoma State is NOT your little brother. We might lose to OU more than we win, but we are the most loyal fans you’ll ever meet. We aren’t second rate, we have one of the best educational programs in the country that draws students from all over the world. We even developed the turf we played on tonight in Norman. We aren’t stupid. We aren’t beneath you. We are Cowboys.

I’ve had orange blood running through my veins since before I was born. The passion I have for the color orange runs deeper than a t-shirt from Chris’s University Spirit or a Joe’s cup. It makes nights like tonight worth it.

Just because we might appear to be the underdog, doesn’t mean that we don’t have the ability to make a comeback. When Bedlam is on the line, there isn’t a prediction or score spread worth the paper it’s printed on. It’s about heart. And folks, Cowboys have a lot of heart.

Go Pokes!

Coach Hohmann's newest sticker.

Coach Hohmann’s newest sticker. A couple years ago on a Bedlam win, I started a rivalry with my (OU enthusiast) softball coach. I put a OSU sticker on his windshield and three days later he vowed to get me back. He got another addition to his collection tonight!

Leave a comment